Tricky one to ID

Discussion forum for getting a butterfly identified.
David M

Tricky one to ID

Post by David M »

Is this Pale or Berger's Clouded Yellow?

Seen near Lake Como, Italy:
Colias.jpeg
Colias2.jpeg
bugboy

Re: Tricky one to ID

Post by bugboy »

I've zero experience of either but the roundedness of the forewings would point towards a Bergers, assuming they're the only 2 candidates, this is based using Pete's latest book.
Some addictions are good for the soul!
selbypaul

Post by selbypaul »

I've previously read that they are virtually impossible to tell apart without having DNA or seeing the caterpillar that led to the butterfly.

However, having read Pete's book over the weekend, supposedly the roundedness of the forewings is one of a few factors that can lead to a 95% chance of successful ID. On that basis, it is more likely to be Berger's Clouded Yellow. But others will I'm sure have views.
John Vergo

Post by John Vergo »

For me it looks most likely like a Berger´s, do to the roundeness of the forwing apex, and the hindwing ground colour is more warm yellowwish than the C. hyale :)
petesmith

Post by petesmith »

Berger's for me too. For the same reasons as others have mentioned.
Padfield
Administrator
Administrator

Post by Padfield »

To all appearances, Berger's. I've seen Berger's with the wingshape of pale clouded, but I've never seen pale clouded with the wingshape of Berger's - and this definitely has the wingshape of Berger's.