Old Butterfly books

Discussion forum for books and any other media concerning butterflies.
bugboy

Old Butterfly books

Post by bugboy »

Inspired by Zigzag_wanderer's recent thread on his new acquisition, I thought I'd post some images of my small collection of old butterfly books. I've been collecting them for several years, initially for colour plates which I love in these old books but I soon became fascinated by the text as well, sometimes simply by the almost poetic verse used to describe the subjects but also for the snapshots in the natural history and our understanding in them, even the occasional arrival of a 'new species'.

This first post is my newest acquisition:
IMG_0011.JPG
IMG_0010.JPG
It's undated but the text suggests written in the early 20th century (there's a brief description of the Large Blue pupae but no mention of it's association with ants and there's no mention of the Chequered Skipper's occurrence in Scotland for example). The author is written as W. E. Kirby which is almost certainly a typo, a William Forshell Kirby was a prominent entomologist of the time (1844 - 1912) who's name crops up elsewhere in my collection.

The plates are attractive and as with some other books of the time silver rather than white was used on several of the Fritillaries, making them very eye catching but difficult to photograph accurately, especially with flash.
IMG_0002.JPG
IMG_0001.JPG
IMG_0003.JPG
This book lists a total of 74 butterflies although many of these are already stated as being probably extinct (Purple Edged Copper, Mazerine Blue etc.) Others we now know not to be true species any more, in this book we had 3 species of Brown Argus:
IMG_0008.JPG
and there was another species of Copper too:
In interesting un-named Small Copper ab. in the top left.
In interesting un-named Small Copper ab. in the top left.
IMG_0005.JPG
IMG_0006-tile.JPG
The rutila being described is almost certainly L. dispar rutilus but it's occurence in Kent is, well :?: